Skip to content

two boxed sets

Mitt sets: the mitt, and what the pan lands on

A mitt gets the roasting tin out of the oven. Something else has to take it once it reaches the counter, and these two boxes supply that second piece — trivets in one, pot holders in the other. It is why they cost more than mitts alone, and why the piece count on the box matters here more than the colour does.

2products
15colourways
$19.99–$22.99price range
20,422ratings behind them

Side by side

What is in each box, and what it costs

Two sets that look interchangeable in a grid and are not. One is silicone throughout and hand-shaped; the other is a rectangular pad with no outer material declared, and their rating pools differ by more than an order of magnitude.

ProductRatingPiecesSizePrice
mitt and trivet set4.84Not statedfrom $19.99
mitt and pot holder set4.74Not statedfrom $21.99

Piece counts are as the titles state them. Where a listing leaves a field empty instead of filling it, this page says so rather than borrowing the figure from the other set.

On this shelf

Two boxes, and the difference the grid hides

These two sit next to each other under one heading and have less in common than the grid suggests: a mitt shape, and then the fields part company.

Silicone throughout, or a pad that never says

The trivet set declares silicone as its outer material and a hand shape, which is the same construction as the mitts on the previous shelf. The pot holder set declares a rectangular shape and no outer material at all: its seven colourways do not name the same material between them, so there is nothing to put in that row for the set as a whole.

That is a real difference in what you get and how it behaves: a rectangular pad is laid down where a hand-shaped one is worn, and only one of the two tells you what your hand will be holding. Both listings say machine wash in the care field, which is the one thing here that is stated where it should be.

A description that belongs to something else

The mitt and pot holder set is the only product here whose listing bullet points describe a different product altogether, so there is nothing in them to quote. They are dropped when this catalogue is built rather than reworded into something that reads like a description of this box.

What survives is the countable part: four pieces as the title states them, the price spread, the rating pool and the colourways. That gap is accounted for here rather than papered over with sentences of our own.

Why one set has so many more ratings than the other

19,069 against 1,353 is not a verdict on quality; it is a difference in how long and how widely each has been sold. Colour choice is not what separates them — seven colourways against eight — so what is left is time on the shelf.

A pool of that size still says something — it is well past the point where a bad product stays quiet — but it says it with much less confidence. Read the larger number as better evidence, not as a better set.

Questions

About the sets specifically

Answered from these two listings only.

Is a set better value than buying mitts alone?

It costs more and contains more, and whether that is value depends on whether you need the second piece. The sets start at $19.99 against $14.99 for mitts on their own.

What you are buying with the difference is somewhere to put the hot thing down. If your counter already has a trivet on it, the sets are the more expensive way to buy a mitt.

How many pieces are actually in the box?

The titles say four pieces for both. On the mitt and trivet set the piece-count field agrees with the title. On the mitt and pot holder set there is no piece-count field left to agree or disagree, because its colourways do not give one answer between them.

So the title is what to go by in both cases: it describes the box that ships, and it is the figure standing in the tables here and on the product pages.

Are the mitts in the sets the same as the mitts sold separately?

They are sold as separate listings, and what those listings declare lines up: the trivet set gives the same outer material and the same hand shape as the mitts sold on their own. Neither set, however, states a cuff length, and that is the one figure that would tell you whether the fit is identical.

So these pages compare the fields that exist instead of describing a set as a bundle of the singles. If cuff length is what you are choosing on, buy from the mitts shelf, where both lengths are stated outright.

Why is there nothing from the mitt and pot holder set description anywhere here?

Because the only listing behind it that carries bullet points spends them on a different product, and text that is not about this box is dropped when this catalogue is built. There is nothing underneath to fall back on, so there is nothing of it to quote.

What is missing is a paragraph of prose. What is not missing is the countable part: piece count, price spread, rating pool and colourways, the same fields as every other product on this shelf.